Craniosacral Rhythm Research
Presentation about Published Scientific Paper

Researcher Thomas Rasmussen, PhD, MSc, CST-D Presents About His Scientific Paper That Pertains to the Craniosacral Rhythm.

English Version

Recordings of Zoom Presentations - English with Consecutive Translation

About the Study

A study exploring rhythmic oscillations of the human head was published in the Journal of Bodywork and Movement Therapies October 2020 entitled Direct Measurement of the Rhythmic Motions of the Human Head Identifies a Third Rhythm by Thomas Rosenkilde Rasmussen and Karl Christian Meulengracht.

A central concept in CranioSacral Therapy, and at the same time controversial, is the concept of a unique rhythmic movement separate from arterial and respiratory rhythms. Palpation of the unique rhythm is central and used worldwide by a high number of therapists. A significant source of the criticism and controversy of both the existence and reported range of a unique rhythm in humans is the subjective approach to study rhythmic movements by palpation.

The aim of the study was:

  1. to characterize the rhythmic movements on the head relating to the arterial, respiratory, and a possible third rhythm.
  2. to describe the nature of the third movement.
  3. to define the normative range of the third rhythm in humans using an objective method.

In humans, a third rhythm separate from arterial and respiratory rhythms was observed. The lecture will go into detail with the results of the study and their implications concerning CranioSacral Therapy are discussed.

Scientific Paper PDF - Direct Measurement of the Rhythmic Motions of the Human Head Identifies a Third Rhythm

International Affiliates

  * Denotes Satellite
Argentina Australia Austria Belarus Belgium Bolivia, Plurinational State of Brazil Canada Chile China Colombia Costa Rica Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Ecuador Estonia Finland Germany Greece Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Ireland Israel Italy Japan Kazakhstan Korea, Republic of Latvia Lithuania Mexico Netherlands New Zealand Norway Panama Peru Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Romania Russian Federation Serbia Singapore Slovakia Slovenia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sweden Switzerland Taiwan Thailand Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom Uruguay Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of